top of page

Pulling

Your reputation precedes you. 

And I must say, it was quite the privilege

to meet you sooner than expected.

I had been warned to stay away, 

they said that you're provocative,

you cause trouble,

that you're intoxicating.

But I can't help that I'm the middle child,

who craves attention, and looks for trouble.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Since the day I met you, 

I knew we were destined;

Because I haven't been able to keep my hands,

or my mouth, 

off of you ever since.

Since now, it’s been some time, 

I can proclaim

a simple message to the one who's challenged me 

from the beginning.

You've been a habit,

a part of me.

A co-worker of mine,

Often splurging on your enticing aroma, 

Festivities here and there, 

you were always my tenacious guest,

my best kept secret of certainty.

You brought out, what seemed like,

the best in me. 

With you, it was always a party.

Even when I sat in my empty apartment with you. 

You tempted me 

more often than not. 

And I;

always gave in to your lonely cries,

that were filled with excuses of newly single friends,

birthdays, Fridays and Saturdays and

why nots.

But we've had the grandest of times,

met the most marvelous people,

and kept some of the closest friends.

We worked together every day,

you were part of the 'corporate culture'

you helped me study my coursework,

While we braved new and thrilling realities together.

We had the most wonderful affairs.

When I was with you, you gave me freedom.

We made love with others late into the morning,

and you made it easy. 

You made me easy. 

No matter what we fought over,

I always gave in. 

Regularly overriding the lessons

that I might've learned in the past.

You constantly pulled me back, into loving you,

while I absorbed you into my heart, bloodstream, and brain.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So, where does this leave us?

I know, deep down,

that it's time to d.t.r.

it's time to define the relationship.

But you know;

that I don't want to,

and I know;

that I can't.

Because that would mean 

coming to terms 

with the money spent; wasted,

while clouded memories were made,

and those sleepless nights made easier.

And recognizing

the pure ferociousness, and 

true control of this seduction,

this constant pulling of me

into you, 

and the smooth taste of you,

into me.

The pulling of drunkenness.

-{RM}

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page