top of page

Moving On, Looking Back

After almost four years, I say goodbye.

You say that you’re proud of me,

And that my future is bright, so I need not cry.

My time with you was just lovely,

But it’s time for my next degree.

And as this next chapter is approached,

Trust me, when I say, I will never forget you, coach.

Tonights poem is for the dVerse prompt of Rhyme Royal, along with a heavy heart after an excellent conversation with my Pole Vault coach. This summer, I decided to graduate early from my undergraduate program and accept my offer into the Business Analytics graduate program at Michigan State. Meaning that I would no longer be running track (Pole Vaulting) at Aquinas. Though I’m confident in my decision, Coach Morrissey is the only person that I was worried about disappointing. He believed in me from day one and transformed me from an 8 foot pole vaulter to a 12 foot, Nationally ranked, WHAC Conference Champion, NAIA competitor for Aquinas College. We had a special bond from the very beginning and I credit all of my success to him. He helped me through some of the worst times of my life, and I don’t think he even realized it. He gave me the courage and comfort to believe in myself and accomplish things I never thought possible. And after tonight I know that he wholeheartedly supports my decision to graduate early and pursue my career. I will forever be grateful for the impact he has had in my life. It was an honor to compete as his athlete for the last three years.

Tonights Prompt: “The form consists of seven metrical lines with the rhyme pattern ababbcc. A metrical line has a pattern of accents that sound repetitive both within the line and between the other lines of the poem.”

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page